Skip Navigation
A | A | A
Bookmark this page
Print This Page

Mutual Aid Links

Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
This new Secretariat within the federal structure was formed in June 2002 at the direction of President George Bush. DHS's major responsibilities include training and equipping first responders; coordinating communications with local, state and federal agencies; coordinating efforts to protect against bioterrorism; managing federal emergency response activities; securing the borders and transportation venues; synthesizing and analyzing intelligence information and others..

Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
The FCC was established by the Communications Act of 1934 and regulates interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable. The FCC's jurisdiction covers the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. possessions.

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
FEMA is the independent federal agency responsible for leading America's efforts to prepare for, respond to and recover from disasters. FEMA was formed in 1979 to combine federal programs that dealt with all phases of emergency management, for disasters of all types, into a single agency.

National Emergency Management Association (NEMA) and
NEMA is a professional organization of and for state emergency management directors. NEMA works to improve and advance the emergency management components within the state and with other states during major disasters. NEMA is also the administrator for the Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC). EMAC is a congressionally ratified organization that provides form and structure to interstate mutual aid.

National Integration Center (NIC)
The NIC was established by the Secretary of Homeland Security to provide direction and oversight of the National Incident Management System (NIMS).

National Interagency Coordination Center (NICC)
The NICC is the focal point for coordinating the mobilization of resources for wildland fire and other incidents throughout the United States. They also provide Intelligence and Predictive Services to be used by the internal wildland fire community for wildland fire and incident management decision-making.

National Response Framework (NRF)
The purpose of the National Response Framework is to establish a comprehensive, national, all-hazards approach to domestic incident response. The NRF will replace the NRP.

U.S. Fire Administration National Fire Academy (NFA)
The NFA offers a variety of courses and programs to enhance the ability of fire and emergency services and allied professionals to deal more effectively with fire and related disasters.