Skip Navigation
A | A | A
Bookmark this page
Print This Page

IAFC Awards Programs

Benjamin Franklin Fire Service Award for Valor

The Benjamin Franklin Fire Service Award for Valor is presented annually at the general session of Fire-Rescue International, the award honors a firefighter for his or her expert training, professional service and dedication to the duty displayed in saving a human life. 

Emergency Medical Services Awards

The Emergency Medical Services Awards, presented by the IAFC EMS Section, feature four awards that recognize innovations and achievement in emergency medicine. Awards include:

  • Heart Safe Community Awards: Large Community
  • Heart Safe Community Awards: Small Community
  • James O. Page Award
  • EMS Meritorious Service Award

Fire Chief of the Year Award

The Fire Chief of the Year Award is presented at the general session of Fire-Rescue International, honoring one career and one volunteer fire chief for their leadership, innovation, professional development, integrity, service to the public and contributions as a whole to the fire service. The award is sponsored by Pierce Manufacturing.

In Service Emergency Vehicle Technician of the Year Award

The IAFC Emergency Vehicle Maintenance Section and FIRE CHIEF magazine award the In Service Emergency Vehicle Technician of the Year Award which is given to one EVT who has made an outstanding effort to promote a high standard of excellence in quality and safety in emergency vehicles.

Excellence in Fire & Life Safety Award

The Excellence in Fire & Life Safety Award honors those who have dedicated themselves to saving lives and property through the development of codes, fire-prevention practices and leadership techniques.

Hazmat Awards

The IAFC Hazardous Materials Committee has four hazmat awards that recognize outstanding contributions in the field of hazardous-materials emergency response, which are presented annually at the International Hazardous Materials Response Conference.

  • Chairman's Award
  • Level A Award
  • John Eversole Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Making a Difference Award

President's Awards of Recognition

Every year the IAFC president honors a number of individuals from the fire and emergency service community who have contributed in a significant way during the president's term with the IAFC President's Awards of Recognition.

Safety, Health and Survival Awards

Safety, Health and Survival Section Awards recognize both organizations and individuals who have made a significant contribution to the overall environment of health and safety in their organizations or the fire service. The Safety Health and Survival Section award program is comprised of four awards:

  • Alan Brunacini Fire Service Executive Safety Award
  • Billy Goldfeder Fire Service Organizational Safety Award
  • Garry Briese IAFC Safety Performance Award
  • Safety Officer of the Year Award

Volunteer & Combination Awards

The Volunteer & Combination Officers Section issues a series of awards that recognize achievement in leadership, operations and administration.  The four awards included in the VCOS awards program are:

  • John M. Buckman III Leadership Award
  • Emergency Vehicle Safe Operations Achievement Award
  • Retention and Recruitment Award
  • Training Officer Award

Fire Service Award Partnerships

IAFC is pleased to cooperate with our partners in the fire and emergency service community to celebrate the great work being done by individuals and departments in our industry.  The following awards are independent by the IAFC, but are supported by the association in partnership with the award sponsors.

The U.S. Department of Defense: Fire and Emergency Services Awards Program
FireRescue Magazine: Company Officer of the Year